mgzs td

octoman
Bolt Twiddler

mgzs td

Post by octoman »

hi im new to mgzs and just bought a mgzs td on 03 plate and it has a problem on tickover it sounds like its knocking but when you rev it it goes away , runs fine when driving but when you are in traffic you can smell exhaust gases in car have been told this is due to the timing solenoid in diesel pump is this right , also the driver footwell is wet when it rains where are drain holes thanks
octoman
Bolt Twiddler

mgzs td

Post by octoman »

with reference to my last thread does any other car has the same pump timing solenoid in thanks
E_T_V
Site Admin

Re: mgzs td

Post by E_T_V »

Are there any exhaust gases in the engine bay. If so then it could be a manifold or downpipe leak causing the noise/smell rather than the pump.

Timing solenoid failure is a very characteristic noise. It sounds like an old transit starting on a very frosty morning.
It doesn't lead to excess smoke/smell though.

The timing solenoids from some transits apparently fit although I've not tried it myself.
octoman
Bolt Twiddler

Post by octoman »

hi ref to last thread thanks for replys is there any tests for timing solenoid also is there any specific place for manifold to crack thanks
octoman
Bolt Twiddler

Post by octoman »

sorry also it does sound like its coming from front of engine
E_T_V
Site Admin

Post by E_T_V »

octoman wrote:hi ref to last thread thanks for replys is there any tests for timing solenoid also is there any specific place for manifold to crack thanks
There are some tests listed on mg-rover.org which should help. I think the title is "how to diagnose VP30 pumps" or something like that.

The manifolds don't crack generally but I've seen EGR blanking plates leak before (where fitted) which would give the same effect (noise and smoke under the bonnet).
octoman
Bolt Twiddler

Post by octoman »